Marais and Taljaard triumph in Tsumeb

The second competition of the year was kindly supported by Moruti Spar as well as Butt Archery Supplies, Tsumeb Golf Club, Executive Auto Repairs, AS Enginerring, and NS Gifts.

The tournament saw more than 40 archers from around the country go head to head in both Re-curve and Compound divisions.

Francois Marais was the most successful archer in the men’s compound division. The athlete from Windhoek made his intentions clear during the qualification round scoring an impressive 689 from a possible 720 points. Louw Nel, winner of the AFRO Pumps shoot a month ago, secured the second best score (677), while Ben van Wyk placed third with a score of (662).

The trio, together with Bernd Oosthuizen, then progressed to the elimination round where Marais made light work of Oosthuizen (145/77) to book himself a place in the final where Nel was waiting after defeating van Wyk (140/136). There was little that separated the pair in the gold medal match, but Marais was just too strong on the day. He scored 140 points, compared Nel’s score of 134, to take home the win. Van Wyk came in third place.

In other action, Elisabeth Taljaard, one of the most promising young archers in Namibia, took top honors in the women’s compound category. However, during qualification, Taljaard only managed the second best score (648) behind Ilana Malan (661). Liezel Schoeman achieved the third best score with 641 points.

Taljaard continued her run during eliminations, triumphing over Brigitte Tietz and Schoeman to reach the final. Here she faced Malan. The final was a nail-biting affair. Both archers showed great composure. Eventually, Taljaard managed to beat her rival by the slightest of margins, scoring 133 points while Malan had to settle for 131 points.

Meanwhile Harvey Park won the Master Men division after defeating veteran Rüdiger Woormann in the final with 119:115. Ullrich Hoffmann came in third. Hendre van Eeden was the top performer in the men’s compound cadet category. Warren Smit and JB Oosthuizen placed in second and third place respectively.

Other winners.

Recurve Men.

Gold: Paul Grobler

Recurve Master Men

Gold: Peter van Eeden

Compound Cadet Women

Gold: Brigitte Tietz

Compound Cub Boys U15

Gold: Gideon Brink

Compound Cub Girls U15

Gold: Lize Marie De Bod

Compound Boys U13

Gold: Dirk de Bod

Silver: Sw Kuhn

Bronze: Johan Reas

Recurve Cub boys U15

Gold: Morne Meyer

Recurve Boys U13

Gold: CF Brandt

Compound girls U13

Gold: Mia Karsten

Silver: Arianne Neumann

Compound Boys U13 Para Archer

Gold: Timmy de Wee

Recurve Cub Girls U15

Gold: Quinn Reddig